Green Leaders Listen
Sun Radio’s Current Corner

Sun Radio’s Current Corner

Wednesday, 19 August 2020

Time is on our side these days. With everyone staying at home, we are turning to books (Check out Kathy Valentine’s “All I Ever Wanted”), digital media (“Tiger King” on Netflix anyone?), and of course radio to keep us entertained in these strange days. Everyone here at Sun Radio are committed to keeping you entertained on and off the radio.

Enter: Sun Radio’s Current Corner, bringing you new song recommendations to get you through all the madness happening in the world.

Check out the latest ones below and listen for them on solar-powered listener-supported Sun Radio!

  • Devon Gilfillian – “The Good Life”
    Originally from Philadelphia, the now Nashville-based artist’s debut album Black Hole Rainbow is a beautiful modern reflection of the sounds he grew up listening to: Ray Charles, Otis Redding & Stevie Wonder mixed with the influence of hip-hop beats and production. Gilfillian has been making big waves recently opening for Gladys Knight, Mavis Staples & The Fray. We are diggin’ this one “The Good Life”.

  • Brandy Clark – “Who You Thought I Was”
    She might not be a name you know, but certainly some of the songs she has penned for others are (the list is too long but Kacey Musgraves, Reba McEntire, Sheryl Crown & Miranda Lambert all have co-writes with her). Her third album Your Life is A Record was produced by Jay Joyce and features this song inspired by John Prine, who after receiving an award at the Americana Awards told the audience “I’m John Prine, but I’d like to go back to being who you thought I was”. Clark wrote it down and used it later to help her detail the end of a 15 year relationship…and like any classic country song it might make you reach for the tissues.

  • Pokey Lafarge – “End of My Rope”
    New West recording artist Pokey Lafarge (born Andrew Heissler) recently relocated from St. Louis to Los Angeles, stumbling upon some dark demons along the way which is the subject matter of much of his new album Rock Bottom Rhapsody, a mix of roots, rock, with hints of blues, jazz, and Americana.


  • M. Ward – “Unreal City”Portland folk-rocker M. Ward returns with a new album this spring Migration Stories, recorded  in Quebec with Arcade Fire members Tim Kingsbury and Richard Reed Parry helping him out. The new single features 80s synth sounds over a mid-tempo groove, some sweet hand claps and Ward’s soothing low timbre singing “Anywhere the sun strikes the pavement/Anywhere there’s feet on the street/I feel the most in the moment/I found peace in the/Unreal city/Where the big one sleeps tonight”. The “Unreal City” video was filmed in Paris and influenced by French New Wave director Jean-Luc Godard. It mainly features a woman dancing around the French capitol to the song, but Ward shows up at the end.



  • Margo Price – “Twinkle Twinkle”

    Our favorite modern alt-country queen is back with new music produced by Sturgill Simpson and we are digging the collaboration which layers fuzzy guitar lines & funky organ riffs beneath Price’s smooth sweet vocal. Her new album This is How Rumours Get Started comes out May 8th. “Twinkle Twinkle” was inspired by a conversation Price had with Marty Stuart backstage about the harsh reality of life on the road. Check out her psychedelic collage art video for the song…a nice visual & sonic break for you.

  • Norah Jones – “I’m Alive”

The first release from the Dallas native’s new album Pick Me Up Off The Floor (May 8th, Blue Note Records) is a mellow collaboration with Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy who plays acoustic & electric guitars and bass alongside Norah’s signature warm piano & smoky vocal. The video feels almost nostalgic right now while we are practicing social distancing…pour a glass of wine or whisky for this one & enjoy.

  • Major Lazer feat. Marcus Mumford – “Lay Your Head On Me”

Continuing on the long list of Major Lazer (consisting of record producer Diplo and DJ’s Walshy Fire and Ape Drums) collaborations, they team up this go around with Mumford & Sons frontman Marcus Mumford for “Lay Your Head On Me”, a chill yet energetic song combining the best elements of both artists.


  • Pretenders – “The Buzz”

It’s been 40 years since the release of the debut self-titled album by Pretenders. Not much has changed for the rock outfit in those 40 years, and that’s alright. “The Buzz” is reminiscent of the sound and vibe which first put the band on the map all those years ago. Their new album ‘Hate For Sale’ is due out July 17th and marks the first full-length songwriting collaboration between front woman Chrissie Hynde and guitarist James Walbourne.


  • Ben Gibbard – “Life In Quarantine”

The Seattle-based Death Cab for Cutie front man Ben Gibbard unveiled his new song “Life In Quarantine” in a video as part of local alt-weekly The Stranger’s A Message to the City series, noting “I know this is a really f—ed up and scary time for everybody, including myself, and I know that we’re all trying to figure out what to do to make it better or alleviate the suffering of someone else.” Gibbard has also been live streaming daily concerts from his home since the beginning of the Seattle area’s voluntary social-distancing efforts on March 17th.


  • Randy Rogers & Wade Bowen – “Hold My Beer”

Two of the Lone Star State’s best singer/songwriter and performers in the Texas Country realm, Randy Rogers & Wade Bowen, are getting together once more for ‘Hold My Beer – Vol. 2.’ “Unlike our first record, which kind of happened out of nowhere, this album was really planned,” Bowen said to Rolling Stone. Rogers added, “Every single song on the album comes from the heart. Some will make you laugh. Others will make you cry… But when it’s all said and done, we just hope the music speaks for itself and reflects the amount of time and love that went into each of these songs, from the melodies to the lyrics. We couldn’t be prouder of this album.” Produced by Lloyd Maines (Dixie Chicks, Ray Wylie Hubbard), the 12-song album will be released May 8th.


  • Pearl Jam – “Quick Escape”

‘Gigaton’, the 11th studio album (and the first in 7 years) from rock heavy-weights Pearl Jam has finally arrived. “Quick Escape” is a highlight off the new album and is one of the many rocking tracks that is classic Pearl Jam. There is a little bit of everything to enjoy from this record, whether you’re a Pearl Jam superfan or just a casual listener. The waiting was the hardest part but it was worth it.


  • Bob Dylan – “Murder Most Foul”

New Dylan. Need we say more? “Murder Most Foul” is the first original Bob Dylan song since 2012’s ‘Tempest’ and clocks in at right under 17 minutes. It’s a treasure trove of lyrical goodness that documents the assassination of President John F. Kennedy that then weaves in references to other classic songs and songwriters (that makes up around a 4-hour playlist.) All of this paints a story of the changing times, the culture and the music that helped carry a country through one of it’s darkest hours. It’s a song that we didn’t expect coming that we needed the most. How very Bob Dylan.


Have you downloaded the FREE Sun Radio smartphone app for your iPhone or Android?
Do it now and listen to us anywhere!

Comments are closed.